History & Establishment
The origin of State Corporations (SCs) in Kenya dates back to the late nineteenth century with the construction of the Kenya-Uganda Railway line by the Imperial British East African Company (IBEA), which was a state corporation under the colonial government. The colonial administration subsequently established several other statutory boards mainly agricultural commodity, regulatory and marketing. After attaining independence, in 1966, the then Ministry of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry found it necessary to set up an office of Inspector of Statutory Boards to monitor and evaluate performance of statutory boards in the agricultural sector.

With the establishment of State Corporations in other sectors under various ministries, the office of the Inspector of Statutory Boards was transferred from the Ministry of Agriculture to the Office of the President in order to spread appraisal and monitoring services to all Government Ministries. In 1986 the State Corporations Act, Cap 446 was enacted establishing the Office of the Inspector of State Corporations with the mandate of advising the Government on the effective management of State Corporations thus assuming the functions of the office of the Inspector of Statutory Boards. Subsequently the department of Inspectorate of State Corporations (ISC) was established within the Office of the President.

The signing of the National Accord on 6th March, 2008, created the Office of the Prime Minister with the responsibility for coordination and supervision of Government functions. The Inspectorate of State Corporations among other departments was therefore transferred to the Office of the Prime Minister. The Office of the Prime Minister ceased to exist with the promulgation of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and the subsequent general elections of March 2013. Currently the Office of the Inspector General (Corporations) is  department domiciled under the Office of the Deputy President within the Presidency.