A State Corporation is a body corporate established under Section 3 of the State Corporations Act, Cap 446, or by an act of Parliament, or under the Companies Act, Cap 486 where the Government controls majority or all of the Shares.  Further, a subsidiary of a state corporation is a state corporation.

State corporations are classified into 8 broad functional categories based on mandate and core functions. These include;-

  • Financial
  • Commercial/manufacturing
  • Regulatory
  • Public Universities
  • Training and Research
  • Service
  • Regional Development Authorities
  • Tertiary Education and Training